‘The Archibald’ offers a behind-the-scenes pass into the journey of eight artists in their bid to win the 2017 Archibald, the nation’s most coveted – and controversial – arts prize.

Following three former winners (Tim Storrier AM, Wendy Sharpe and Nicholas Harding), the 2016 People’s Choice winner (Nick Stathopoulos), a former Sulman Prize winner (Jason Phu), a three-time finalist (Yvette Coppersmith), a war artist chasing the most infamous Australian alive (Dr George Gittoes AM) and a rising star (Tessa McOnie), ‘The Archibald’ takes viewers on a roller-coaster ride as the artists race to the deadline to submit their portraits.

While some sail through the painting process, other labour in the fine detail … and two artists go back to the drawing board at the 11th hour!

Among their sitters are outgoing Australian Human Rights Commission president Professor Gillian Triggs, Hollywood star Isla Fisher, WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange, AFL star Lin Jong, renowned composer Elena Kats-Chernin, and artists McLean Edwards and John Olsen AO, OBE.  

With exclusive access into the judges process, ‘The Archibald’ reveals the mystique surrounding the decision-making process for the first time on TV.

It was funded by Foxtel with major investment from Screen Australia, and was directed by Dan Goldberg, with Adam Kay as Executive Producer and Seema Khanna as producer. 

Comments are closed.

Theme developed by TouchSize - Premium WordPress Themes and Websites